The Site of the Camp after 1945

The Red Army used the site of the camp for military purposes starting in 1945. You can still see the ruins of their tank garages there today.

After the 1990 withdrawal of the military, the entire site of the Former Ravensbrück Women's Concentration Camp with the Siemens Forced Labor Camp and the Uckermark grounds was initially accessible.

In 1995, the Association of Ravensbrück Camp Survivors, Family and Friends [LGRF: Lagergemeinschaft Ravensbrück / Freundeskreis e.V.] put up a plaque in remembrance of the prisoners of the girls' concentration and extermination camp with the inscription "You are not forgotten."

Lagergelände nach 45Volunteer work stays have been organized since 1997, with people participating in projects such as the excavation of barrack foundations and the documentation of any found objects, as well as documentary work on and about the site. (See also: volunteer work stays)

In the fall of 1997, a landscape planning competition was held by the city of Fürstenberg and the Ravensbrück Memorial Site for the design of the entire area. The first prize went to the person who suggested planting a field of blue flowers as a memorial to the Uckermark Youth Concentration Camp for Girls and Young Women and Later Extermination Site. There were also plans to excavate the former extermination site for historical research.

For financial reasons and due to land ownership structures, it was not possible to implement that design or to conduct any further research at the site

Another issue that had an effect on the future of the site was the planning of a bypass road around the Fürstenberg municipality. Plans to cross or divide the site were introduced repeatedly. Those plans are discussed in an article about the situation released by the Association of Ravensbrück Camp Survivors, Family and Friends (LGRF) (pdf, in German) between 2004/2005.

In 1997, a network of feminists and antifascists was formed that began helping to spread awareness about the site. In 2006, the network founded the Initiative for a Memorial at the Former Uckermark Youth Concentration Camp.

More on the Initiative for a Memorial at the Former Uckermark Youth Concentration Camp

Das Lagergelände nach 1945

Ab 1945 wurde das ehemalige Lagergelände von der Roten Armee militärisch genutzt. Auf dem Gelände befinden sich noch heute die Ruinen der Garagen für Tankfahrzeuge.

1990 nach Abzug des Militärs war erstmals das gesamte Gelände des ehemaligen Frauenkonzentrationslagers Ravensbrück mit Siemens- Zwangsarbeiterlager und Uckermarkgelände zugänglich.

1995 errichtete die Lagergemeinschaft Ravensbrück/ Freundeskreis e.V. zum Gedenken an die Häftlinge des Mädchenkonzentrationslagers und des Vernichtungslagers eine Tafel mit der Aufschrift: "Ihr seid nicht vergessen".

Lagergelände nach 45Seit 1997 finden Workcamps auf dem Gelände statt, die Barackenfundamente ausgegraben und Fundstücke dokumentiert haben, sowie weiterhin dokumentarische Arbeit an und auf dem Gelände leisten. (siehe auch Baucamps)

Im Herbst 1997 wurde ein Landschaftsplanerischer Wettbewerb für die Gestaltung des Gesamtgeländes von der Stadt Fürstenberg und der Mahn- und Gedenkstätte Ravensbrück ausgeschrieben. Den 1. Preis machte ein Entwurf, der als Gedenkform für das ehemalige Mädchenkonzentrationslager ein blaues Blumenfeld vorschlägt. Für das ehemalige Vernichtungslager sind Ausgrabungen zur historischen Forschung vorgesehen.

Die Umsetzung dieses Entwurfes sowie die weitere Erforschung des Geländes waren aus finanziellen Gründen und aufgrund der Besitzverhältnisse nicht möglich.

Ein weiteres Thema, das auch die Zukunft des ehemaligen Lagergeländes betraf war die geplante Ortsumgehungsstraße der Gemeinde Fürstenberg. So gab es immer wieder Planungsvarianten, die das Gelände überquert / zerschnitten hätten. Diese werden auch thematisiert in einem Beitrag von der Lagergemeinschaft Ravensbrück/Freundeskreis e.V. zur Situation in den Jahren 2004 /2005.

Ab 1997 wurde das Gelände u.a. durch das politische Engagement von Feminist_innen und Antifaschist_innen, die sich zu einem Netzwerk zusammenschlossen bekannter. 2006 gründete das Netzwerk die Initiative für einen Gedenkort Uckermark.

weiter zur Initiative für einen Gedenkort